ASMCUE Leadership Grant for International Educators

017Application Deadline:
November 15, 2016

The Leadership Grant for International Educators enables a select group of microbiology/biology/health science undergraduate educators from resource-limited countries to attend the ASM Conference for Undergraduate Educators (ASMCUE®) and a pre-conference workshop in order to provide these future leaders in STEM education with the resources to develop and pilot innovative pedagogy and learning modules that engage students and lead to enduring understandings in microbiology/biology/health science. As part of this grant ASM will provide up to $3,000 US dollars travel subsidy for roundtrip economy airfare to the US and any necessary transportation in the US and provides complimentary housing and meeting registration to ASMCUE®
. Travel subsidies are distributed on a reimbursable basis.

Program Description

The goals of this program are to provide educational leaders from resource-limited countries with training in the latest developments in microbiology education in order to improve microbiology and STEM education in their home country and to build capacity for disseminating change within their local and national STEM educational communities.

Participants will receive training through a three pronged approach:

  • Participants will attend a full-day interactive leadership training workshop that will demonstrate how to use ASM resources to build innovative teaching and learning modules that engage students and lead to enduring understandings in microbiology.
  • Participants will join a community of approximately 350 microbiology and biology educators at the ASMCUE®, the premier biological science education conference for undergraduate faculty that provides scientific and education professional development through plenary sessions, discussion and working groups, posters, and exhibits. The ASMCUE® features an exchange of best practices and largest challenges in teaching.
  • Participants will join a one-year virtual learning community that will continue to provide training and assistance after returning to their institutions.
  • Participants will develop an outreach plan for training faculty in their home country.


  • Preference will be given to ASM members.
  • Applicants must be a citizen of, and residing in, a resource-limited country in Latin America, Asia, Africa, or Central and Eastern Europe. Resource-limited countries are classified as upper-middle income and below by the World Bank Development Group. To find out if your country is fits this criteria, please visit: World Bank.
  • Applicants must have a minimum of six years teaching in microbiology/biology at an undergraduate university level.
  • Applicants must have regular and sustained access to the Internet.
  • Applicants must commit to fully participating in the program including: the workshop, virtual learning community, required progress reports and internal evaluation of the program.
  • Members of the ASM International Board, International Education Committee, International Membership Committee, International Laboratory Capacity Building Committee, and the ASM International Ambassador Network are not eligible for this program.

Criteria for Selection

  • Demonstrated commitment to improving microbiology education
  • Leadership capacity to transmit knowledge to colleagues in home country
  • Institutional commitment to improving microbiology education

Applications will be grouped into four program regions: Latin America, Africa, Asia, and Central and Eastern Europe (Where possible, two candidates from each region will be given priority to participate in the program)

Reporting Requirements

An initial report must be submitted to the ASM Education Department within one month of attending the pre-conference workshop and ASMCUE®. Additional reports must be submitted four and eight months after the completion of ASMCUE® describing efforts to transmit the knowledge gained during the program to colleagues in the participant’s country.

apply now button

Map of 2009-2015 Grantees